Water Animals Names in English, pictures of 90+ aquatic animals

Here we discuss water animals names including Sea animals, Aquatic animals with pictures

Water Animals:  

In the marine world, there are many forms of water animals. These animals include fish, crustaceans, corals, and various invertebrates such as sea stars, jellyfish, and squid.

Water Animals name with picture infographic

Water Animals names
water animals name

 However, marine life also includes a variety of non-animal life forms such as microorganisms (such as plankton), plants (such as kelp), and fungi that can be found in both shallow water and deepwater environments.

 Some marine organisms even live on land like mangroves and seagrasses in coastal areas around the world.

Giant squids, octopuses, penguins, and even dolphins are just some of the animals that live in the ocean. All of these creatures have adapted to life underwater in their own special ways.

The ocean is filled with many different types of sea animals, but there are only so many that have been discovered by humans.

 You will be able to see how important each animal and creature that inhabits the water really is to our world and why we should take care of them because they play a large role in keeping our earth alive and healthy.

List of water Animals Name:  

  • Sea slug
  • Oyster
  • Axolotl
  • Narwhal
  • Yellowfin tuna
  • Flying fish
  • Beluga whale
  • Whale
  • Seaweed
  • Scallop
  • Killer whale
  • Nautilus
  • Humpback whale
  • Seahorse
  • Angler fish
  • Walrus
  • Seal
  • Tiger shark
  • Manatee
  • Cuttlefish
  • Flounder
  • Barracuda
  • Blue tang
  • Shrimp
  • Glassfish
  • Octopus
  • Lionfish
  • Porcupine Fish
  • Stonefish
  • Squid
  • Sea otter
  • Boxfish
  • Sea snake
  • Conch
  • Haddock
  • Sunfish
  • Starfish
  • Oyster
  • Guitarfish
  • Yellow tang
  • Stingray
  • Butterflyfish
  • Sawfish
  • Pelican
  • Bannerfish
  • Crocodile fish
  • Sea turtle
  • Jellyfish
  • Pilot whale
  • Mollusk
  • Fugu
  • Sardines
  • Coral
  • Lobster
  • Sea urchin
  • Cormorant
  • Shark
  • Dolphin
  • Leafy sea dragon
  • Penguin
  • Blue marlin
  • Polar bear
  • Shell
  • Sea anemone
  • Horseshoe crab
  • Hammerhead shark
  • Scorpionfish
  • Zebra shark
  • Sea snail
  • Sealion
  • Eel
  • Manta ray
  • Plankton
  • Fish
  • Pacific halibut
  • Mussels
  • Crab
  • Moorish idol
  • Swordfish
  • Clownfish
  • Mackerel
  • Clams
  • Rockfish
  • Elephant seal
  • Eagle ray
  • Cowfish
  • Atlantic salmon
  • Batfish
  • Seagull
  • Herring

Water Animals Names with Pictures: 


Water Animals-jellyfish

A jellyfish is an animal that lives in the sea, usually in the warm and tropical areas of the oceans. A jellyfish looks like a ball of jelly, and it swims by using its tentacles, which are covered with stinging cells (nematocysts).

Even though jellyfish live in the ocean, they can be found in many different places including freshwater lakes and even swimming pools! Jellyfish are also one of the oldest animals on Earth and have been around for over 600 million years! There are thousands of different kinds of jellyfish, each kind living in its own habitat.

Jellyfish are soft-bodied, free-swimming marine animals that move through the water by pulsing or contracting their bell-shaped bodies.


Water Animals-oyster
flicker image

Oysters are actually one of the most common shellfish in the world, but one thing that might surprise you about them is that they are not fish at all.

They are a type of mollusk and make up the family Ostreidae along with mussels, clams, and scallops. Oysters are marine bivalve mollusks that are found in all of the world’s oceans and coastlines.

 These delectable foods are known by many names including oyster edulis and ostrich plume, but it’s their common name, oyster, that will stick with you when you taste one of these delicacies.

 All the hundreds of oyster species contain different levels of calcium, iron, zinc, and vitamins A and C as well as many other minerals and trace elements.



Whales are sea mammals and the largest animals to have ever lived on Earth, but they aren’t fish! In fact, they belong to their own mammalian group called Cetacea, or cetaceans. This includes dolphins and porpoises.

There are two kinds of whales:

  • Baleen whales (like humpbacks)
  • Toothed whales (like orcas).

 Baleen whales:

Have long baleen plates in their mouths that they use to filter small fish out of the water Toothed Whales:

Have sharp teeth that they use to catch prey.

There are more than 40 species of whales living in oceans all over the world. They can range from 10 feet to 100 feet in length, depending on the species.

Whales can be either social animals or loners, depending on their location and environment. They are classified as carnivores, which means they eat other marine animals such as fish and squid, but there are some species of whales that can eat small crustaceans like krill and shrimp too.


water animals-Sealion

Sea lions are aquatic mammals that have flippers, tails, and whiskers. Most sea lions live in the Pacific Ocean, but some live in the Atlantic Ocean or the Indian Ocean too. They range in size from about 2 feet to 10 feet long; depending on their species and sex (male sea lions are larger than females).

 Male sea lions also have manes of coarse hair that run down their necks and backs onto their chests, while females do not. There are six different species of sea lion; some are more social than others, and they spend much of their time in groups called colonies.


water animals-Calms

A clam, also known as an ocean clam, is a type of edible marine bivalve mollusk. A small number of species have valuable shells used as ornaments or, in some cases, jewelry; other species are commercially important as food sources.

Clams are one of the most ancient animals on Earth, and they can provide some health benefits that are great for your entire body, including your immune system and even your heart.

An oyster, clam, or mussel (or mollusk) is any bivalve mollusk that lives in saltwater or in brackish water. Some types of clams are filter feeders, but most clams filter particles from the water to eat them.

Cone snails and limpets are not mollusks, but they look like clams because they have hard shells as clams do. Clams live on beaches and in shallow water near the shoreline and sometimes as deep as 80 feet under the surface of the ocean.



Dolphins are aquatic mammals that are closely related to whales and porpoises. They live in the ocean and seas, but some species live in freshwater rivers and lakes.

 Dolphins have long, pointed snouts and sharp teeth, but they are not really fish. They breathe air through blowholes on top of their heads, and they give birth to their young alive.

The meat of dolphins can be eaten, but it is sometimes not allowed to be sold in countries that have signed the Whaling Convention.

There are 39 species of dolphin that inhabit oceans all over the world, with some species capable of living in both saltwater and freshwater lakes and rivers. The male dolphins are called bulls, females are called cows and their young are called calves or pups.

 Most dolphins tend to live between 15 and 20 years, although there are reports of certain species living up to 50 years or more in captivity.

Read more about water animals names and detail